Home / FlashMed


Titolo Iron, Inflammation, Dialysis Adequacy, Nutritional Status, and Hyperparathyroidism Modify Erythropoietic Response
Autore Adam E. Gaweda,* Linda J. Goldsmith,† Michael E. Brier,± and George R. Aronoff* - *Department of Medicine and †School of Public Health and Information Sciences, University of Louisville, Louisville, Kentucky; and the ±Department of Veterans Affairs, Louisville, Kentucky
Referenza Clin J Am Soc Nephrol 2010; 5: 576-581
Contenuto Background and objectives: The erythropoietic response in hemodialysis patients depends on several physiologic factors. Most epidemiologic studies include the effect of these factors by representing them as confounders. This study tested the hypothesis that iron stores, inflammation, dialysis adequacy, nutritional status, and hyperparathyroidism act as nonlinear effect modifiers of the erythropoietic response and quantified the magnitude of those effects over clinically relevant ranges. Design, setting, participants, & measurements: The following retrospective data from 209 hemodialysis patients receiving Epoetin alfa (Epo) were collected: monthly: predialysis hemoglobin (Hgb), transferrin saturation, serum albumin, dialysis adequacy (Kt/V); quarterly: predialysis serum ferritin and intact parathyroid hormone over a period of 13 to 69 months. The study analyzed the dynamic relationship between hemoglobin and Epo, considering nonlinear effect modification by ferritin, transferrin saturation, Kt/V, albumin, and parathyroid hormone individually. Results: Maximum Hgb response to Epo was achieved for serum ferritin between 350 and 500 ng/ml, transferrin saturation greater than 30%, Kt/V greater than 1.4, and albumin greater than 3.8 g/dl. Hgb sensitivity to Epo decreases by about 30% as parathyroid hormone increases from 0 through 1000 pg/ml. Conclusions: Serum ferritin, transferrin saturation, Kt/V, serum albumin, and intact parathyroid hormone are markers of nonlinear effect modification of the erythropoietic response in hemodialysis patients.
Data 03.05.2010
Maggiori informazioni   
Lista completa